If you are considering a career in real estate in North Carolina be prepared for a challenging but rewarding pursuit.
The process for obtaining a license:
- First, successfully complete North Carolina’s 75-hour Broker Prelicensing Course.
- Then submits a license application with application fee and required documentation to North Carolina Real Estate Commision.
- The commission will determine your eligibility. You will receive a “Notice of Examination Eligibility.”
- You will then take and pass a licensing examination.
- After you pass the examination, the Commission determines whether the applicant possesses the requisite “character” for licensure. This usually requires a background check.
- Commission issues license to qualified applicant.
North Carolina requires that you complete a 75-hour Broker licensing course provided by a state-approved school. This course will help prepare you for the state exam by providing you with an understanding of:
- The Real Estate Business
- License Law and Qualifications for Licensure
- Federal and State Laws pertaining to Real Estate
Upon completion of the course, you will receive a certificate of completion allowing you to register for the State Real estate license exam.
You must pass the North Carolina State Licensing Examination with a score of at least 75%. Studying for this exam is extremely important as additional retakes require an additional fee. The exam is broken up into two portions the National exam and the State exam. You will have to score at least 71 out of 100 for the national portion and 29 out of 40 for the state portion.
Some things you could do to prepare include,
- Take Practice Tests
- Enroll in a real estate prep course
After passing the state licensure exam you will receive a Provisional Broker license. With this license, you will be able to represent buyers and sellers within DDR Realty or any real estate firm in the state in which you are licensed.
In order to maintain your license, you’ll be required to complete 90 hours of post-licensing coursework to remove the “provisional” status. You must also take at least one 30-hour provisional class each year to keep your license active
After your first renewal date, you will then be required to complete 8 hours of continuing education annually in order to maintain your license.
Contact Dorothy Rainey if you are interested in becoming a realtor. We will guide you through this decision and mentor you on your way to your new career.